Cheng & Tsui SIG Awards

Deadline: October 31, 2018

Call for Proposal

With a generous donation from Cheng & Tsui, for a five-year period from 2017 to 2022, the Special Interest Group (SIG) Awards will support projects related to pedagogical research and material development from CLTA SIGs. The CLTA Professional Development Committee invites proposals for the Cheng & Tsui SIG Awards.

Awards and Eligibility

Each year, the CLTA Professional Development Committee intends to select three or four SIGs to share the $2,000 Cheng & Tsui SIG Awards. The awards can be used to defray the cost of conducting the intended projects and/or travel to the CLTA Annual Conference for dissemination of the project outcomes. Only current CLTA SIGs are eligible to apply, and all expenses must have receipts and will be reimbursed by the CLTA Secretary up to the amount awarded. Additionally, only one SIG is eligible to submit one proposal per year.


A current SIG may submit a three to four-page electronic proposal in English or Chinese (double-spaced, 12-point font) that includes a clear description of the project, such as the theoretical background; the objectives and intended audience; design of the project; timeline; budget of the project (itemized in detail); and expected outcomes. A reference list should be included at the end of the proposal, but this section is not counted in the page limitation.


An awarded SIG is expected to conduct one of the following activities upon completion of their projects:

  • Present at the Cheng & Tsui SIG Award panel of presentations at the CLTA Annual Conference;
  • Organize a Cheng & Tsui SIG workshop at the CLTA Annual Conference.

In order to ensure that all CLTA members benefit from the results of the awarded projects, all awarded SIGs are required to submit to CLTA a final report, which will be made public through the CLTA websites.


Subject: SIG Awards Application


Recipients will be notified via email on November 15th, 2018 The awarded SIGs will be announced at the CLTA General Membership Meeting.

Award Recipients

  • 2017
    • Special Interest Group: Content-based Chinese Language Courses at Advanced Levels. “Advanced Chinese Language Courses Based on the Theme of Chinese Philosophy: Design and Practices” by Hsin-hsin Liang (University of Virginia), Yu Feng (Brandeis University), and Mien-hwa Chiang (University of Pennsylvania).
    • Special Interest Group: Educational Technology. “Integrating Educational Technology into K-12 Chinese Language Education” by Chen-hui Tsai (University of California, Berkeley), Shenglan Zhang (Iowa State University) and Congcong Wang (University of Northern Iowa).